08
Jan
10

Our First 2010 Miracle! First Breakthrough!


“He moves in ways we cannot see, He will make a way for me…”

There is truly sunshine after the rain. If you’ve read my previous posts, you’d know what my wife and our entire family went through this November-December of 2009. The biggest blow was the diagnosis of my wife with breast cancer.

After my wife’s surgery, histopath biopsy results was read as Invasive Ductal Cancer, associated with extensive Ductal Carcinoma In Situ. In fact,the pathologist commented that 80-90% of the 5x5cm mass was Carcinoma In Situ, and that only a small portion was invasive. As such, the stage was stage IIa. If it was purely In Situ, it would be stage 0.

Now, for non-medical peeps, when we say “IN SITU” it means the cancer is CONTAINED and carries a better prognosis than INVASIVE cancer. After surgery, invasive cancer needs chemotherapy, In Situ does not.

So after a lot of tears shed, Joann and I have submitted to the will of God and had peace and joy in our hearts. We prepared for her chemotherapy, which was supposed to be started today, January 8. Part of the preparation entailed sending out the histopath slides for receptor testing (estrogen ER, progesterone PR and HER2) receptors that would influence what type of chemo drugs would be used. We consulted with an oncologist already and prepared ourselves for the possible side effects, such as hair loss, etc.

What would be better was to have ER positive PR positive and HER2 negative results, which is relatively easier and cheaper to treat.
As such, as I called up the lab for results, it came out exactly the opposite/ ER and PR negative, and HER2 positive. This would require a more toxic chemotherapy regimen, and an extra drug, Herceptin, which would cost around Php 90,000.00 per vial. It would have to be given every week for 1 year.

Still, in all things we praised God, and gave thanks to Him, and committed to Him our future.

I went to the lab to get the official result, As I read the result, it stated ER negative, PR negative and HER2 positive. But after HER2 positive, this was written…(IN SITU). I was a little baffled. What we needed was the HER2 status of the invasive part, not the In Situ part.

So I called up the pathologist, who, i didn’t know at the time, was a previous president of the society of pathologists. I asked him what was the HER2 status of the invasive cancer was. He told me “I didn’t see any invasive portion. It was all In Situ.”

My ears popped up. Long story short, I sent him additional slides for review, and still he gave an official report )just this wednesday) DUCTAL CARCINOMA IN SITU.

Joann and I were stirred up. Could this be true? If this was true, she WOULDN’T NEED CHEMO TX at all.

To settle our anxiety, we sent the slides to a 3rd pathologist, also a senior and respected doctor in the medical community. As I drove to the pathologist today, I prayed to God “Lord, let it be that whatever reading this 3rd pathologist says, be the true reading. Whether it be invasive or In Situ. But our hearts desire o Father, let it be In SItu!”

Long story short, I gave the slides (all 25 of them) to the pathologist this morning. I saw him browse through the slides. One by one he looked at them. He looked at me. He told me, “all I see is In Situ. I’ll give you an official result tomorrow but to me it’s In Situ.”

Hallelujah! Praise God! Praise Him! Praise His most holy Name!

I’ll be talking to the oncologist later, but all medical guideline show there is no need for chemotherapy for Carcinoma In Situ. The surgery done was enough management. All we need to do is close monitoring.

God STILL answers prayers. He STILL moves mountains. He STILL parts the waters of the seas. He STILL does the impossible.

This is our first miracle for the year. This is our first breakthrough. And we are expecting more from our Great and Almighty God!


0 Responses to “Our First 2010 Miracle! First Breakthrough!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to Avanar\'s Visions and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other subscriber

AVANAR is…

d-AV-id,d-AN-iel,d-AR-yl

January 2010
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

visions seen

  • 1,573 hits

the visionary…


...this is avanar's dad...full-time hubby, full-time dad, full-time worshipper, full-time md, part-time prof, part-time photographer, part-time blogger, part-time matinee idol, but...

ALWAYS A BELIEVER!